Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /misc/25/000/212/149/6/user/web/theafhl.com/wp-content/plugins/page-links-to-old/classes/plugin.php on line 725
Coaches and Eligible Players Announced for 2014 All-Star Game :: The Amazing Fantasy Hockey League

Coaches and Eligible Players Announced for 2014 All-Star Game


Coaches and Eligible Players Announced for 2014 All-Star Game

January 23rd, 2012

The AFHL will showcase it’s best and brightest next month as the American Conference will try to remain undefeated against the Canadian Conference in the fourth annual AFHL All-Star Game.

On Monday morning, the AFHL released the list of eligible players for both conferences (based on Olympic rosters) and now it’s up to the coaches to decide on the lineups.



Head Coach: Rick Charron (Washington)

Assistant Coach: Daryn Beckman (Buffalo)



TJ Oshie (Boston)

 Joe Pavelski (Buffalo)

Derek Stepan (Boston)

James van Riemsdyk (Twin City)

Pavel Datsyuk (Manhattan)

Evgeni Malkin (Boston)

Valeri Nichushkin (Twin City)

Marian Hossa (Buffalo)

Patrice Bergeron (Washington)

Sidney Crosby (Buffalo)

Patrick Marleau (Buffalo)

Mikko Koivu (Fort Drum)

Thomas Vanek (Boston)

Loui Eriksson (Manhattan)

Henrik Zetterberg (Manhattan)

David Krejci (Washington)

Milan Michalek (Buffalo)



Andrej Sekera (Boston)

Niklas Kronwall (Boston)

Mark Streit (Manhattan)

Justin Faulk (Twin City)

Jay Bouwmeester (Buffalo)



Sergei Bobrovsky (Twin City)

Antti Niemi (Buffalo)

Tukka Rask (Washington)

Henrik Lundqvist (Deer Park)


Head Coach: Jordan Carbone (Toronto)

Assistant Coach: Mike Brunetta (North Bay)



David Backes (Toronto)

Patrick Kane (North Bay)

Phil Kessel (North Bay)

Max Pacioretty (Lakehead)

Zach Parise (Oshawa City)

Alex Ovechkin (Victoria)

Anze Kopitar (Victoria)

Jamie Benn (Toronto)

Jeff Carter (Toronto)

Matt Duchene (Toronto)

Ryan Getzlaf (North Bay)

Rick Nash (Victoria)

Corey Perry (Montreal)

Patrick Sharp (Hamilton)

Steven Stamkos (Toronto)

John Tavares (Oshawa City)

 Jonathan Toews (Ottawa)

Nicklas Backstrom (Victoria)

Gabriel Landeskog (Hamilton)

Daniel Sedin (Victoria)

Henrik Sedin (Lakehead)

Jaromir Jagr (Toronto)



Ryan Suter (Hamilton)

Kevin Shattenkirk (London)

Zdeno Chara (Victoria)

Drew Doughty (Victoria)

Duncan Keith (Oshawa City)

Alex Pietrangelo (Toronto)

PK Subban (Toronto)

Shea Weber (Hamilton)

Erik Karlsson (Toronto)



Jimmy Howard (North Bay)

Ryan Miller (Montreal)

Jonathan Quick (Lakehead)

Roberto Luongo (Montreal)

Carey Price (Victoria)

Jonas Hiller (London)

Semyon Varlamov (Victoria)



9 Forwards (any positions)

4 Defensemen

1 Utility Player

2 Goaltenders

3 Injury Replacement players



(Same as regular season matchup)

Offense/Defense: G, A, P, +/-, PPP, SHP, GWG

Goaltending: W, GAA, SV%, SVs, SO



– Scoring will be based on the first round of play in the 2014 Olympics (Feb. 12th to Feb. 16th)

– Coaches were selected based on season standings (top two teams in each conference).

– Coaches must communicate with each other and make roster decisions together.

– Head coach must submit their All-Star Team’s lineup to the commissioner by midnight on Sunday, February 2nd.



2012 AFHL All-Star Game

2011 AFHL All-Star Game

2010 AFHL All-Star Game

Categories : afhl


  1. Victoria GM Chris Hartley says:

    Varlamov and Bishop should definetely have been nominated over Quick and Howard on the Canadian side 😉 No okposo? He is 7th in the league right now!

  2. London GM Matt Plachta says:

    No Claude Giroux either. Task tsk

  3. Washington GM Rick Charron says:

    based on olympics…thats why alot of good players are not listed…and alot of guys who wouldnt normally be listed for all star teams

  4. Victoria GM Chris Hartley says:

    Hadn’t seen that. Curious. Still doesn’t explain Varlamov’s omission. He has been nothing short of spectacular this year. Rask, Bishop, and Varly have been the best three so far this season no question.

  5. Victoria GM Chris Hartley says:

    No Jagr Either! ahhh

  6. Fort Drum GM Steve Stryska says:

    No love for Raanta??? Hah

  7. Manhattan GM Tony Furino says:

    Jagr and Varlamov have been added to the list of eligible players.

  8. Toronto GM Jordan Carbone says:

    yeah and no Pavelec either wtf he was definitely going to be my #1 goalie pick lol..

  9. Manhattan GM Tony Furino says:

    if anybody else is missing please post here and consider them eligible (only if they are also in the olympics)

  10. Oshawa City GM Earl McNeill says:

    Nice to see 3 leafs heading to all star game. Keith, Tavaras and Parise. Do me proud boys.

  11. Twin City GM Phil Svoboda says:

    Good job Vikings…nice showing despite a sub-par performance as a team this year! Gotta get our act together to hit the 8 spot!

  12. Montreal GM Keith Cancilla says:

    goalie domination!

  13. Buffalo GM Daryn Beckman says:

    holy lopsideedness batman!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. London GM Matt Plachta says:

    Guys missing that are going to the Olympics from the Mustangs:
    Cam Fowler, Patrik Berglund, Michael Raffl, Olli Maatta (should be ROY), Nikita Nikatin, Carl Hagelin, Tomas Kopecky. I think the only one that should be up for the allstar nod that was missed was Cam Fowler and maybe Maatta if your going to have a “Young Guns” game. 😉

Leave a Reply

Warning: Undefined variable $user_ID in /misc/25/000/212/149/6/user/web/theafhl.com/wp-content/themes/FlexxProfessional/comments.php on line 48

You must be logged in to post a comment.

The Amazing Fantasy Hockey League (AFHL) is a lifetime keeper fantasy hockey league that consists of 20 franchised teams, of which 10 are located in Canada, and 10 are located in the United States. The AFHL is in no way shape or form affiliated with the NHL or the NHLPA and all teams logos and players names are their property.