Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /misc/25/000/212/149/6/user/web/theafhl.com/wp-content/plugins/page-links-to-old/classes/plugin.php on line 725
The IFHL :: The Amazing Fantasy Hockey League



Anthony Furino announces expansion league

Incredible Fantasy Hockey League (IFHL) to begin play next season

May 30, 2011

The creation of the Incredible Fantasy Hockey League was announced Monday afternoon at a press conference in New York. Anthony Furino, owner and commissioner of the AFHL, said that the expansion league will consist of 20 teams and will begin play in October 2011.

“I’m very happy to announce the creation of the Incredible Fantasy Hockey League,” Furino said. “I’m confident that hockey fans all over the world will enjoy our world-class level of fantasy hockey featuring current and future NHL players.”

Furino said the goal of the new league is to help grow the game and provide the people who do not play in the AFHL the chance to play in a nearly identical keeper league.

“The plan is the same plan that was formed for the AFHL – for teams to play a regular season schedule from October to March with a playoffs bracket that concludes with a Stanley Cup Final being held no later than the last weekend in April,” Furino said. “Each year, the league champion will be awarded a miniature Stanley Cup trophy and a $100 cash prize.”

The following GMs submitted applications to join the expansion league and are expected to be interviewed sometime during the next few days via Yahoo Instant Messenger:

(GM Name – Desired Team Name)

Scott Hannett – Las Vegas Gamblers

Mike Heron – Unknown

Mark Brady – Thunder Bay Destroyers

Scott Young – Unknown

Daryl Hood – Unknown

Justin Ivandetto – Montreal Flyers

Steve Holly – Winnipeg Jets

Steve Butcher – Unknown

Jason Creamer – Las Vegas Black Aces

Rick Bereiziat – Unknown

John Demetres – Sacramento Blaze

Tony Di Francesco – Unknown

Jussi Kalmi – Unknown

Chris Fannon – Unknown

Walter Quinn – Miami Lightning

Eric Audoyer – Unknown

Cory Audette – Unknown

Mike Handelson – Unknown

Mike Babyak – Baltimore Bandits

Jason Farnsworth – Unknown

Ryan Greening – Unknown

Chris Pacifico – Calgary Thunder

Jake Beckman – Lancaster Lancers

Matthieu Poirier – Unknown

Daryn Beckman – Buffalo Bombers

Patrick Sutch – Quebec Axes

Russ Gage – Unknown

Ronnie Jensen – Washington Sting

Lee Mantz – Kitchener Panthers

Derek Paddon – Unknown

Glenn Conboy – Westland Wolverines

Mike Sutherland – Pittsburgh Jets

Mike Klaypack – Unknown

Eric O’Brien – Vancouver Stars

John Seyford – Unknown

James Sullivan – Unknown

Drew Schumaker – Dallas Rough Riders

Robby Tiger – Orlando Juice

Chris Clayson – Unknown

Steve Bennett – Montreal Hurricanes

Chris Arnold – Vancouver Ice Dogs

John Civatello – Unknown

Jake Armstrong – Pittsburgh Attack

Joshua Paschedag – Urbana Blues

Mike Quartucchio – Unknown

Rick Webber – Minnesota North Stars

Lucas Main – Boston Barons

John Cuozzo – Unknown


“I’m thrilled about this expansion league,” said Furino. “We’ve already established strong relationships with people in the AFHL family, and we can’t wait to do the same in the IFHL.”

Click here for the IFHL rulebook

Click here for the IFHL Yuku Message Board

– – – –

IFHL Franchise Fee ($50) for the 2011-12 Season

$50 franchise fee covers the cost of trophy, cash prize, website maintenance, and drafting service (running inaugural draft). Future franchise fee will always be $25 per season (after inaugural draft).

*All GMs have 24 hours to pay their franchise fee from the time they are awarded an IFHL franchise. If the fee is not paid within that time period then they are subject to lose their spot in the IFHL.

Before you pay your franchise fee, make sure you understand the rules and procedures found on the Rules page. If you have any questions then please send an email to the IFHL commissioner: acfurino@yahoo.com

NOTE: Only make this payment if the IFHL Commissioner offered you a franchise for the 2011-12 season. If the Commissioner did NOT offer you a franchise for the 2011-12 season and you make a payment anyway, then that payment will be returned to you.

Click on the PayPal button below to pay your $50 franchise fee for the 2011-12 season

The Amazing Fantasy Hockey League (AFHL) is a lifetime keeper fantasy hockey league that consists of 20 franchised teams, of which 10 are located in Canada, and 10 are located in the United States. The AFHL is in no way shape or form affiliated with the NHL or the NHLPA and all teams logos and players names are their property.